suitcase and passport ready to travel

Green Light For Flights & Holidays As Travel Restrictions Eased

From the 10th July you will no longer be required to quarantine for fourteen days on your return to the UK from 59 countries. The current quarantine measures for travel to the 59 listed countries have now been lifted, opening up these destinations for UK travellers once more. The relaxed measures so far only apply to England with travel updates expected from the devolved administrations in the coming days.

Whilst the UK has removed restrictions on travel to these low risk countries, it is important to check any rules on entry for your destination country before travelling. There may still be quarantine requirements on UK visitors elsewhere. For example, New Zealand will require visitors to self isolate on arrival. Also bear in mind that rules and restrictions could change at any time.

FCO Travel Advice

The Foreign Office (FCO) has amended its previous advice against all but essential travel allowing exceptions for 59 countries so far.

FCO Travel Advice 3rd July 2020This has been applied to countries where the public health risk is no longer deemed to be unacceptably high.

Strict safety measures at airports and on-board flights will remain in place. For example, wearing a face mask at all times may become a legal requirement. (Read general info on the safety measures you can expect to find when flying or find specific airport info here.

What countries are now exempt?

More countries are expected to be added in the coming days however here is current list of countries you can travel to:

Antigua and Barbuda, Aruba, Australia, Austria, Bahamas, Barbados, Belgium, Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba, Croatia, Curaçao, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Dominica, Faroe Islands, Fiji, Finland, France, French Polynesia, Germany, Greece, Greenland, Grenada, Guadeloupe, Hong Kong, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macau, Malta, Mauritius, Monaco, Netherlands, New Caledonia, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Réunion, San Marino, Serbia, Seychelles, South Korea, Spain, St Barthélemy, St Kitts and Nevis, St Lucia, St Pierre and Miquelon, Switzerland, Taiwan, Trinidad and Tobago, Turkey, Vatican City, Vietnam.

If you travel to any other country or destination you will still be required to self isolate for fourteen days on your return.

Welcome News for Travellers & Industry

The easing of travel restrictions is welcome news for many travellers keen to salvage holiday plans before the Summer season ends. The Government have said the changes will also provide “a vital lifeline for UK travel operators and those whose jobs rely on the travel industry.” The industry has been hard hit by the current travel restrictions and many jobs have already been lost.

Travel Insurance

A change in the FCO travel advice is an important step for consumers looking to ensure travel insurance will offer protection while abroad. Note that some insurers may still exclude cover for any COVID-19 related cancellations or issues. Ensure you have an acceptable level of cover before booking. If you begin to show symptoms and are prevented from travel the airline or tour operator will not refund your reservation and its unlikely that insurance would cover a cancellation.

Share this post

Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on print
Share on email